2018 Water Travel Award

Candidates should fulfill the following criteria:

1. Postdoctral fellows (within three years of receiving their Ph.D.) or Ph.D. students undertaking water resources research.
2. They must present their own, original work as a poster or oral presentations at the conference for which the travel award application is being made.

You can find the details of this travel award in: http://www.mdpi.com/journal/water/awards.pdf/0/36_2018_2_flyer.pdf

Joan Rose receives Stockholm Water Price

Prof. Joan B. Rose, Ph.D. from Michigan State University was the 2016 recipient of the prestigious Stockholm Water Prize for her extended contribution to public health and water quality research. She is a true ambassador for the HRWM research field! The Stockholm Water Prize Nominating Committee said that “The nexus of water-related microbiology, water quality and public health is rife with uncertainty – in both theory and practice. The world is blessed with few individuals who can tackle the increasing and changing challenges to clean water and health, starting from state-of-the-art science through dedicated and original research, then moving to professional dissemination, effective lobbying of the legislative arena, influencing practitioners, and raising the general awareness. Joan Rose is the leading example of this extremely rare blend of talents.” She was awarded the prize by the King of Sweden at a special banquet during the Stockholm Water Week. Congratulations from the HRWM Specialist Group on this accomplishment!

Mark Sobsey receives Clarke Prize

The National Water Research Institute (NWRI) has announced that Prof. Mark D. Sobsey, Ph.D., will be the twenty-third recipient of the NWRI Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke Prize for excellence in water research. The 2016 NWRI Clarke Prize, consisting of a medallion and $50,000 award, will be handed over at a prestigious event held on 3 November 2016. Every year this award recognizes research accomplishments that solve real-world water problems and highlights the importance and need to continue funding this type of research. Professor Sobsey’s leadership and contributions to the fields of environmental health microbiology, virology, and water sanitation and hygiene were among the reasons cited for his selection as the 2016 recipient. Congratulations from the HRWM Specialist Group on this accomplishment!